Holyrood Urged to Give Refugees a Vote

MIN Development Officer Pinar spoke to The National Newspaper alongside two of our service users about our involvement in the Right to Vote campaign recently.

Pinar told the Sunday National that giving refugees and asylum seekers the right to vote “..would allow refugees to take part in Scottish politics in their communities and to raise their voices. If this is approved it sends out a strong message to the rest of the world of how you can welcome refugees – by treating them as citizens of the country where they live.”

You can read the full article here or contact Pinar to learn more about the work of our MIN Voices group on the campaign.

‘Under the Jasmine Tree’ shortlisted for Charity Film Awards

We are very excited and proud to announce that the ‘Under the Jasmine Tree’ animation made in partership with St Fillans Primary School and Media Co-op has been shortlisted for the Charity Film Awards!

A big thank you to everyone who voted for the film and to all involved in the project. We are looking forward to the next stage of the Awards.

Music Is Our Language Event

We are super excited to be taking part in Celtic Connections in the Community for our first event of 2020! Join us on Wednesday 22nd January for a fun evening of music and celebration. For more details or to sign up for the event visit our Facebook page here.

MIN Festive Season Holiday Arrangements

MIN will close for the holidays next week on Thursday 19th December 2019 and all our groups and activities have had/will have their last sessions and return in the new year as follows:

Knitting Group – Mon 9th Dec, returns Mon 13th Jan 2020
Football for All – Mon 16th Dec, returns Mon 13th Jan
Conversation Club – Mon 9th Dec, returns Mon 13th Jan
Gardening Club – Tues 10th Dec, returns late Jan/early Feb tbc
Men’s Group – Tues 10th Dec, returns Tues 14th Jan
MIN Voices – Tues 17th Dec, returns Tues 21st Jan
ESOL Classes – Wed 18th Dec, returns Wed 15th Jan
Youth Group – Wed 18th Dec, returns tbc
Family Nest – Wed 18th Dec, returns Wed 15th Jan
Oasis Women’s Group – Thurs 19th Dec, returns Thurs 16th Jan
Joyous Choir – Thurs 19th Dec, returns Thurs 16th Jan

We look forward to working with you all again in 2020!

MIN Closed for General Election

MIN will be closed from 6pm on Wednesday 11th December 2019 and all day Thursday 12th December due to Maryhill Community Centre being used as a Polling Station, this means there will be NO Family Nest or Youth Group on Wednesday and NO Oasis Women’s Group or Joyous Choir on Thursday. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause, activities will return as normal the following week for the final sessions before we close for the Festive Season Holidays .

Image by John Mounsey from Pixabay